About SAU29 SAU29 School District Calendars SAU29 Board Agenda and Minutes Contact Us Directions SAU 29 Financial Statements and Independent Auditors Report
Chesterfield District Harrisville District Keene School District Marlborough District Marlow District Nelson District Westmoreland District
SAU29 Departments Human Resources Curriculum and Assessment Payroll Special Education Technology Professional Development Food Services
Parents and Students Back To School Info E-Flyer Distribution Program
Staff Resources
About SAU29

SAU 29 School District Information

There are seven independent school districts in SAU 29 – Chesterfield, Harrisville, Keene, Marlborough, Marlow, Nelson and Westmoreland. Each has its own elected school board, which oversees its school district’s affairs, including:

  • Budget
  • Policies
  • Hiring of the Superintendent
  • Approval of Superintendent’s nominations of faculty and administrators

In addition to a school board, each district has a moderator and clerk. For more information about each of the districts and its budget process, please go to that district's web page.

School district elections for board members, moderators and clerks are held in March. Specific information about filing deadlines, eligibility, and election procedure may be found on each individual district web page.

There is also an SAU 29 Board made up of the members from each of the seven school districts. The SAU board oversees the governance of the SAU, including staff, budget and policies.

School Administrative Unit 29

School districts in New Hampshire are organized in School Administrative Units (SAUs). School Administrative Unit 29 is comprised of seven independent school districts—

School/District Grades # of Students Middle School High School
 Chesterfield K-8 278 Chesterfield Keene HS
 Harrisville  K-6 53 Keene MS Keene HS
 Keene K-12 3,486 Keene MS Keene HS
 Marlborough K-8 174 Marlborough Keene HS
 Marlow K-6 30 Keene MS Keene HS
 Nelson K-6 62 Keene MS Keene HS
 Westmoreland K-8 153 Westmoreland  Keene HS

*Notes: Keene has 5 elementary schools enrolling 1,231 students, one middle school with 693 students and the Keene High School serving all of SAU 29 with 1,500 students.

SAU 29 is the largest multi-district S.A.U. in New Hampshire. Its responsibilities include managing a collective budget of approximately $90.7 million, maintaining 14 school buildings, coordinating the activities of seven independent school boards, and supervising the educational program for approximately 4,236 students.

SAU 29 and its member districts employ more than 960 people and cover 211 square miles in southwestern New Hampshire.

School Mission

The mission of the schools within SAU 29 is to provide each child with the opportunity to participate in challenging, productive and relevant learning activities which promote individual growth and skills development that will enhance the likelihood of each student leading a productive and fulfilling role in our society

Administrative Staff Includes:

Woolridge, Wayne (603) 357-9005 ex.221 SAU 29 Superintendent, C.A.G.S.
Black, Dan (603) 357-9004 ex.223 Assistant Superintendent- Keene
Duncan, Reuben (603) 357-9002 ex.225 SAU29 Assistant Superintendent Towns and Director of Curriculum and Assessment
Ruehr, Timothy (603) 357-9038 ex.208 SAU 29 Director of HR/Business Administrator for Keene
Swanson, Janel (603) 357-9008 ex.203 Business Administrator/Towns
Deutsch, Nancy (603) 357-9002 ex.213 Manager of Human Resources
Woods, Catherine (603) 357-9001 ex.229 SAU29 Director of Special Education, C.A.G.S.

SAU29 Pamphlet

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]